top of page
  • Writer's pictureJack Marris

Out of the Whirlwind


Previously we have looked at the situation Job was in and we looked at what he did. Now we get the pleasure of seeing how God replied to Job.

Job 38 opens with, Then God answered Job out of the whirlwind. To this point Job had been questioning God and now God was going to answer but not in the way Job was thinking of. I will question you, and you shall answer me.

God then proceeds to lovingly and creatively put Job in his place. He asks Job questions that He knew the answer would be no too.


-Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?

-Have you commanded the morning since your days began, and caused the dawn to know its place?

-Have you walked in search of the depths?

-Have the gates of death been revealed to you?


Of course the answer to all of these questions is no.

Job wasnt there when God created the earth. He has never seen the gates of heaven or hell. Never told the sun to rise. And he had never walked around the bottom of the ocean.


God never answered Jobs' questions. He never told Job what he had done to deserve this. He never tells Job what to do. He never told Job why.


BUT he does tell Job what he needed to know.

He never leaves us hanging.

Summed up in the last few chapters of Job God basically says.


Job, I am God.

You are not.


I am thinking of much bigger things.

You are not.


I made the sunrise this morning.

You did not.


I know what I am doing.

You do not.


Jobs' reply shows the depth of his character vividly.

What shall I say to you?

I lay my hand over my mouth.

I have spoken but I will not answer;

Yes twice but I will proceed no further.


He put his foot in his mouth. He was reminded of the depth of God's power and his problems fell silent in comparison.


I know that you can do everything, and no purpose of yours can be withheld from you.


Job had heard of God's faithfulness, seen it in smaller measures and now he says.


I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you. Therefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.


So God didn't answer Jobs' questions because God himself was the answer.

And Job was content with that.


That is why God said My servant Job has done what is right. Because Job found that even in the midst of unexplained pain, God himself is the answer.



All the bible references were from Job 38-42, If you find time later I would highly encourage you to read it.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page