top of page
  • Writer's pictureJack Marris

The Job project - intro

Depression, anxiety, heart break, injuries, broken trust. We are plagued by the brokenness of this world.


I have been in intense pain for a while now. I learned in the first few months what trusting God truly ment and it changed the way I live my life. But I still have a deep wound in my soul that refuses to be healed.

And when I started to talk about the massive struggle I was facing, other people shared their stories. These were people who have grown up in the Church, who are christians, who have the light of the world in their hearts and are still struggling with depression, heartbreak and pain.

And It made me wonder.


The bible says that God is good. There is no doubt about it, but I believe that God is good and I am still in raging pain.

God has a plan for my life, that is indisputable. But I am still here with no clear path ahead of me.

So at this point I have stood upon and rested in his promises of goodness and all knowingness and yet I am still struggling. So we could say that the purpose of this trial is not soaly resting on those promises just by a process of elimination.


What we are faced with is the majority of Christians telling us that God is good and that he has a plan and we should thrive in that. And as we previously established, this is ture.

But when we hear only that we start to wonder why.

Not why would God let this trial in but rather why am I still here?


Jobs' story showcases the age old question of how God can be good and still allow pain, but it shows even more if you look closely.

Jobs' friends came and told him about God's justness and his Goodness and his omnipotence but Job knew all this. He was a close friend of Gods, constantly pleasing the lord by his actions, the bible actually says that God boasted of Job and his faithfulness.

Job knew about God's justness. He knew about how good god was. And he planned his existence around God's omnipotence.

He was in the same spot I found myself in. Why am I still here?

The story unfolds as Job does the only thing he can.

And later God speaks to Job and tells him that he has done what is right and he rebuked Jobs' friends. So what did Job do that was so right in God's eyes?

And more importantly what should we do?

Let's find out in The Job Project.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page