top of page
  • Gracie Heider

A bit of a lie

Jack smiled as the fresh air finally hit her lungs again. She loved the Cave and the safety it provided but nothing could substitute the breeze that came off the cost. Warm and salty and somehow smelling of summer. Her skin was as hot as Hetz’es was rosy making the sand bristle on their skin. “This was a good idea.” she admitted, taking a grape from the picnic blanket set out in between them.

“I know.” Hetz smiled. “I'm actually full of them.”

“Ehh that's debatable.” Jack shrugged. “But for real. The sunshine helps.”

Hetz knew that since Matt had died they had both dipped into a depression that was only made worse by the darkness of the Cave and the routine of living their lives in Hawks forced lock down. So, knowing full well that Hawk disapproved but also couldn't keep them locked away, Hetz had suggested a day at the beach. The waves had spun Jack around hopelessly flipping her around and under until he stanched her up for air. She would routinely slap him away, pretending like she didn't need his help. Then repeat the process over again the next time she chose to jump a wave that she was clearly meant to dive.

Now as the sun set, they ate next to a sandcastle, built with all the seriousness of four year olds determined to make their creation stand against the tide.

“Are your eyes green?!” Jack stated, somewhat startling Hetz from his thoughts.

“Probably,” he said, raising an eyebrow. “They change color.”

“No they don't! They’re gray.”

“They change depending on the lighting but mostly what color I'm wearing. They look gray when I'm wearing black, and you don't see me out of uniform very often.”

“No way.” she said, staring at him completely baffled. “And I didnt know you could surf.”

“I didn't know you were so bad at it.” he quipped with a smile. “It's not really a skill that I use in the Cave very often.”

The silence grew comfortable between them.

“I suppose that there are probably a lot of things that you gave up when you came to the Cave.” Jack observed.

“Well yes but so did you.”

“Not really. My family came with me, I didn't really have a life outside of work anyway. But you had a lot, good and bad but I guess I forgot there was good too.”

“There was.” He acknowledged. “You don't get as much alone time in the Cave. I used to love to walk by myself for miles, just going anywhere and walking. Getting lost in your thoughts or an audio book.” he closed his eyes thinking about it. “I miss that.”

“Why don't you go right now?”

“Cuz this was about getting you out of the house not letting me live out a weird desire.”

“Can't it be about both?” He squinted at her.

“You sure?”

“Of course. Go live out ur weird desire. And take your time!” she called as he jumped up. “I enjoy life without you!” A bit of a lie. She thought to herself.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deck the halls pt 2

When they arrived Hetz set about popping the popcorn and Jack judged his choice of blankets. “This is like an actual saddle blanket. You can relax under this? It's like trying to get cozy under a cact

bottom of page