top of page
  • Gracie Heider

Interview with Matt Army: Foxtrot 3

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

How do you generally introduce yourself?

It depends on who Im with. See, im a spy of sorts, but to my team and my wife Im Matt Army. To the rest of the agency I'm Foxtrot 3.


How well do you know your wife?

Pretty darn well. An angel that one. She loves the starts, and books and wild flowers - all things I took away from here when we moved.


Where did you grow up? Were you loved?

I grew up in Texas, My brothers and I did life together on a ranch until I was 18, that’s when Christianity became illegal and I was called into the fight. I was loved, not by parents but by brothers, just a rag tag group of whoever needed it, but we were family. no doubt about it, I was loved


What do you do to cope when feeling uncomfortable?

Music, it’s my life line sometimes. Headphones, a guitar, a radio. It doesn’t matter. That’s where I hide


What makes you feel ontop of the world?

My wife does. She is the most beautiful woman and has followed me into the moat dangerous of circumstances. She loves me more then I could ever deserve. She makes me feel on top of the world.


Do you think you are brave?

No Im not brave. I never have been, but I have had the honor of walking along with some people who are, Ive always been paired with someone who is brave. I hope that it rubs off.


What is a dream you have never said out loud

I have always wanted to go back to hunting. Its something I had to give up when I became a Christian and had to go into hiding. But that’s nothing compared to what others have given up.


What do you hate?

Im not gunna like I really hate feet. There gross and think of how many things they touch. Yeah


What do you fear?

I fear loosing Maddie, my wife. And that something I do, or don’t do causes her to fall into harms way.

WHat makes you angry?

Anger is something I really strive to avoid, My partners have enough anger issues for all of us.


What are you ashamed of doing?

Im ashamed of leaving Maddie for a year. I never have deserved her but I left her in a lurch to follow my own desires.


Why did you leave Maddie for a year?

I left her right after our first kid. I was set on being rich after the farm.


What makes your best friend smile?

Very, very few things. But Jack is usually the cause. He is so proud of her, he admires her more then she knows.


Tell me about your children.

Kai- She’s a fighter, like her mama. Always a ball of fire and sass. I love her stories the most. she’s always making something up ( that’s something for her to work on too)

Makio- he is brave, i’ve always admired that about him. He’s always protecting those around him. my favorite thing about Makio is his smile, he’s got his mamas smile. He could work on becoming a little more loving, his sisters do all the loving for him.

Kalani- she’s so little gosh, its hard to tell much at this point besides she’s her daddy’s girl, keeping everything clean all the time, always loving on everybody around her. My favorite thing about Kalani is her love for adventure. She could work on being a little less trusting, I don’t want to tell her not to love everybody but she’s gotta be careful.

I didn’t pick the names, I let Maddie do that, she’s an islander by birth and changed her name when she moved the the US because I wanted her to be normal. she moved to be with me so I let her choose what ever names she wanted for them. And she did a great job.


How often do you sleep?

Thats a very. good question. Not enough. at the agency we usually work 12 hour shifts and sleep whenever we can find time. Thats why my “morning” and “evening routines are so wack.


If you could give advice to your younger self what would it be?

People are more valuable then money. They are better to invest in and worth more in the long run because they never loose their worth.







22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deck the halls pt 2

When they arrived Hetz set about popping the popcorn and Jack judged his choice of blankets. “This is like an actual saddle blanket. You can relax under this? It's like trying to get cozy under a cact

bottom of page