top of page
  • Gracie Heider

Jail in the frozen tundra

“My butt is so frozen.”

“At least you can feel it.” Hetz said, raising his voice over the hum of the truck.

“I might personally kill Rob for making us do a mission in the frozen tundra in a two seater truck.”

“I mean look on the bright side. The stars-”

“In the snow, without proper gear, for 5 hours, not to mention the windchill.”

“Well aren't you just a little ray of pitch black?” They rode in silence for a while until Jack moved to curl up next to him.

“It would be weird if we weren't so cold.” He smiled at her comment, but had to admit the body heat was nice. “The stars are weird over here.”

“Never been this far north before?”

“No. You?”

“Yeah.” Hetz said. “But I've never seen the stars like this.”

“When were you here before?”

“Well… When I first became a GA I may or may not have used the tunnel system to travel a bit instead of going home.”

“What did you do when you were here?” she asked.

“Got kicked out actually, spent some time in a jail, went on a hike, saw some-”

“Wait, why were you in jail?”

“Yeah it was really a misunderstanding. Mostly. See they have the berry that evidently is really good. Well I didn't know that and I was just hungry and hiking, i saw some berries and ate them. Next thing I knew I was shot with a tranq. I woke up in jail. Evidently, it's illegal to eat someone else's cloud berries. They finally figured out I wasnt a local and let me go but they forbade me to come back.”

“But you're here.”

“Yeah but this is for work so we're good. Plus I was a little scruffy back then, I shaved before I came so they didn't recognize me.”

“Is that really all it takes?”

“I guess,” he shrugged.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deck the halls pt 2

When they arrived Hetz set about popping the popcorn and Jack judged his choice of blankets. “This is like an actual saddle blanket. You can relax under this? It's like trying to get cozy under a cact

bottom of page