top of page
  • Writer's pictureJack Marris

Remember why

Recently I ran across a reminder of why I started blogging before I publish my book. This is a snippet from one of my many notebooks that is me writing about one of my main characters - Jacklyn Marris.

Jack showcases the intense warrior mindset and how it clashes with God asking us to be humble. Here are my thoughts on her from back when I first created her.


Part of her mystery is how she is calm in the storm and nervous in the quiet. As I get to know her I am starting to appreciate that about her. I don't understand it but It sure is handy to have around when stuff gets crazy. When I asked her about it she told me “I work for everything in life, everything. If its worth something you have to get it and rarely do you get help. Anything given to you isn't really worth much.” In her eager desire to achieve something in life she has figured out how to do things on her own. Out of necessity sure but this so called “good thing” has become a wall where she refuses help.

It is her own survival instinct that has blocked her from receiving the gift of eternal life simply because it is a gift.

It will sound stupid to those who dont wake up on the grind, to those who dont embrace the suck. But for those that depend on it for a life line, you will understand it. And it is for you that I will tell you of her struggles.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deck the halls pt 2

When they arrived Hetz set about popping the popcorn and Jack judged his choice of blankets. “This is like an actual saddle blanket. You can relax under this? It's like trying to get cozy under a cact

bottom of page