top of page
  • Gracie Heider

Snipers and puberty

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

As your narrator I will not lie to you. Jacklyn Marris was pretty darn perfect. As the narrator I know all of her flaws, heck I even know how her stories gunna end and what lessons she will learn. But right now, with the information you know, she's pretty darn perfect.

Not like the perfect you're probably thinking of though. The kind of perfect where her life was a mess but she was such a cute mess no one really cared. If she was ever asked about fear she would say she wasn't afraid of anything, and to some extent it was true. She was confident, brave, funny, a little sketchy about her sense of style. Oh and I almost forgot, she was the kinda person that could kill you with a pen cap and hide your body so well no one would ever find you.

So ,well Jack was georogus, popular, and desirable, no boy would ever dare to steal a kiss or even try to approach her. In fact at that very moment she was dealing with a young man that was a little distracted by her.

“Mr. Tuskey I'm gonna need you to focus for me ok? If we're gunna make it out of this alive you have to listen to me.”

“Whatever you say sweetheart.” Jack had to resist the urge to slap the young man she was awkwardly close to. But she pressed her body tighter against his as gunfire once again rang out across the grocery store. “Well this is a litt-”

“Don't even finish.” Jack hissed at him. “Or I will ditch you to deal with the snipers by yourself.”

“Snipers?”

Jack couldn't help a grin escaping her as his voice cracked. “Yeah, snipers. They are perched to the east and the north of us right now and there are quite a few more people I could go save…”

“I'm sorry.”

“You should be.” she said, glancing up as another shot fired. “Alright stay here.”

“No wait what?!”

“Chill out puberty.” she said in response to yet another voice crack. “Lay as close as you can to the checkstand and you'll be fine.”

“But what if they come looking for me?” Jack rolled her eyes.

“Their snipers, if they can't shoot us right now, you're safe to stay here.”

“But if they move…”

“I will make sure they won't.” she said with a mischievous smile.

“But you cant- You wont be safe then.”

“Wow. Are you just now trying to be concerned about me? I'll be fine.”

“But their snipers.”

Yet another voice crack! She thought. “I'm a sniper.” she replied before darting out across the aisle. All she heard from behind her was

“You're a what?”

Jack couldn't help but snicker as she dove behind the cover that a nearby isle created. And for the next 10 minutes she set about moving civilians around and avoiding the precision rifle fire. Just another day in the life of Jack.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deck the halls pt 2

When they arrived Hetz set about popping the popcorn and Jack judged his choice of blankets. “This is like an actual saddle blanket. You can relax under this? It's like trying to get cozy under a cact

bottom of page